Love Someone, but Not Me

​Each day, I yearn more and more

For the hand of a girl so close

Yet embittered, it seems so far

As I am not the one she chose

 

Why should I be so jealous?

Of that one guy, just so lucky

It was not I whom she met first

And alas, this situation be not too sucky

 

I find it great to garner our friendship

Yet my jealousy first blinded me

To how great a person her chosen is

Quite frankly, jealousy and envy don’t suit me

 

This journey will be worth the while

As long as she is still here

How I enjoy her lustrous smile

As I stare from over there

 

Oh my gosh, she is quite adorable

Still, I can hope that in her eyes

My actions and I aren’t too deplorable

Even as I stare from way over here

 

It is obvious, I’m in love!

My heart and mind tell me so

Still, this love can be so tough

Head over heels, more so than I thought
I’m a man, disconnected from his feelings

Of that, there can really be no doubt

How can I really, in the world?

Tell her about these feelings flowing about

 

Maybe I should, maybe I shouldn’t

Reveal these feelings of mine just yet

In the chance of ruining our relationship, I couldn’t

Possibly bear that very thought

 

So I’ll let things stay as they are now

Because her smile I love to see

It matters much more to me

That each day, she remain happy

 

Because she’s the one I love

She should always be free

Even though she’s loving someone

That someone is, but not me

Leave a Reply

